Murphy, Bullerman compete at annual Border Battle
ABOVE: Decorah’s Andy Murphy faced off with Noah Herber of LARP at Friday’s 18th annual Iowa-Minnesota Wrestling Border Battle. RIGHT: Tayton Bullerman, a South Winn senior, competed against Stewartville’s Ethan Meyer at Crestwood in the Border Battle Friday. (Photos courtesy of Nate Troy/Cresco Times Plain Dealer)

The 18th annual Iowa vs. Minnesota border battle hosted by the Iowa Wrestling Hall of Fame was Friday, March 8, at Crestwood High School in Cresco. Team Minnesota came away with a 42-39 win in the dual to tie up the series 9-9.

After finishing seventh at the Iowa State wrestling tournament, Decorah’s Andy Murphy stepped on the mat Friday to battle Noah Herber of LARP (Lewiston-Altura-Rushford-Peterson) who finished fifth at the Minnesota State Meet recently. Murphy pushed the match into the second period before falling in 2:49.

South Winn’s Tayton Bullerman

capped off his senior season on the mats versus Stewartville’s Ethan Meyer, falling in 1:18.

Full results:

Kaden Anderlik (Crestwood) won 10-3 dec. over Ty Schmidt (Stewartville, Minn.)

Brody Olson (Stewartville, Minn.) won by fall 3:58 over Gunner Rodgers (North Fayette Valley)

Carter Marx (P-E-M, Minn.) won by fall 2:22 over Weston Fantz (North Fayette Valley)

Cam Rasing (New Hampton/Turkey Valley) won 5-2 dec. over Tyler Soltau (Zumbrota-Maz., Minn.)

Colter Bye (Crestwood) won 11-2 maj. dec. over Ethan Meyer (Stewartville, Minn.)

Clayton Luther (Southland, Minn.) won 3-1 dec. over Troy Monahan (Mason City)

Chad Eastman (Riceville) won 12-2 maj. dec. over Marcus Chavez (Southland, Minn.)

Dominic Jenkins (LARP, Minn.) won by fall 2:58 over Hunter Miller (MFL MarMac)

Noah Herber (LARP, Minn.) won by fall 2:49 over Andy Murphy (Decorah)

Garrett Kuehner (MFL MarMac) won by fall 2:58 over Ivan Vargas (Lake City, Minn.)

Stone Peckham (Crestwood) won 8-0 maj. dec. over Carter Janssen (Stewartville, Minn.)

Ty Schmidt (Stewartville, Minn.) won by fall 2:07 over Hunter Fousek (Crestwood)

Miles Hansmeier (Waukon) won 7-6 dec. over Brody Olson (Stewartville, Minn.)

Carter Marx (P-E-M, Minn.) won 3-2 dec. over Michael Egan (MFL MarMac)

Nathan Hyde (Wapsie Valley) won by fall 2:58 over Tyler Soltau (Zumbrota-Maz., Minn.)

Ethan Meyer (Stewartville, Minn.) won by fall 1:18 over Tayton Bullerman (South Winn)

Rylan Duffy (Wapsie Valley) won by fall 1:03 over Clayton Luthe (Southland, Minn.)