Decorah Newspapers E-Editions | Decorah, IA

You Could Win Big

North American Precis Syndicate

New YorkNY

(NAPSI)—How good is your imagination? Can you picture yourself the lauded winner of a writing or illustrating contest, accepting thousands of dollar and the acclaim of famous writers and artists at a gala awards show? If you can, and you can use that imagination to write or illustrate science fiction and fantasy, here’s good news: You can enter the 39th annual L. Ron Hubbard Writers of the Future or Illustrators of the Future contest. 


The Contests


The annual contests are free to enter. Winners retain full rights to their work and get cash awards, a trip to Los Angeles for a weeklong workshop with professional authors and illustrators and a black tie gala awards event.


How It Started


Famous author L. Ron Hubbard created the Writers of the Future Contest in 1983 to help aspiring writers of speculative fiction. Its success led to the Illustrators of the Future Contest in 1988. The two contests have produced 38 anthology volumes and awarded upwards of $1 million in cash prizes and royalties. 


This Year’s Winners


This year’s winners came from 10 countries around the world. The contest is not only known for the diversity of its entrants but for being a true meritocracy, as the judges see only the story or artwork under an assigned number, not a name. Grand Prize winner Desmond Astaire received a trophy and $5,000, for his story, “Gallows.” Zaine Lodhi won a trophy and a check for $5,000 for illustrating writer Azure Arthur’s story, “Agatha’s Monster.” Dozens of other winners also got trophies and cash prizes.


Learn More


For further information, and to purchase the latest volume, visit and


On the Net:North American Precis Syndicate, Inc.(NAPSI)

Photo: NAPS
Photo: NAPS
(NAPS) A thrilling and beautifully illustrated sci-fi/fantasy collection is now available—and someday your award-winning work could be in one, too.
Photo: NAPS
Photo: NAPS

2023 Decorah Newspapers

Software © 1998-2023
1up! Software, All Rights Reserved